DREAMS and DECISIONS!

By Brad Lewis

Screen Shot 2017-05-15 at 12.10.43 PM
Here I am at the DREAM Symposium before I gave my speech to about 100 people!

 

The DREAM news blog has been a great new experience in my life. I truly believe doing these blogs has made me a better student at Slippery Rock University. In my blogs I have discussed my college experience and it overall is going well. I have made some mistakes along the way, but that is also just part of the adjustment of being a freshman on a college campus.

When I first came to Slippery Rock, I was very anti- social. I will admit I still am a little shy around campus, but I do have a few friends I enjoy talking to and will work on being more social in my sophomore year. One thing that I believe has really improved during my freshman year is my confidence. When I first gave my speech in Slippery Rock about the use of the “R” word I was so nervous I thought about leaving the room and not giving the speech at all. I spoke at the conference and to my surprise everyone really enjoyed my speech. I then traveled to Harrisburg to give another speech. I was still a little nervous, but I was now able to find the confidence that was not there during my first speech and in my opinion, this speech was even better than the last.

Brad in RSD session
Here I am in the audience at the DREAM Symposium in March 2017.

When I first came to Slippery Rock I was uncertain what my job was going to be after I got out of college, in other words I had not decided on a major. This is not a bad thing; in fact, I have heard many stories of students changing majors two, and, sometimes even three times while they are in college. I am taking writing and acting courses currently at Slippery Rock. I am right now thinking I am going to aim for an English major, but I want a little more time before I try to commit to this decision.   I can say without a doubt that whatever class I take, I will eventually find the direction in which I decide to take in my life.

Starting out on a college campus for the first time is definitely scary. There is no familiar face to greet you in the morning, or your mom to make you pancakes. College is not just defining the future of your career. It is defining who you will be for the rest of your life!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Leave a Reply

