After High School (Friends)

By Nigel Abduh

In the beginning

I’ve known my high school friends since Middle School. The way it was I had separate group of friends that I would hang out with. We had classes together, we played on the basketball, ran track, and played football team together. We had arguments and differences but we let those things go and still maintained our friendships.

High School Days

After middle school, my first year of high school I went to a different school where my friends didn’t go. My sophomore year I reunited with my friends at the school that they were attending. In the beginning of that year that everybody was happy to see me when I comeback. During that year some of my friendships with others was starting to change as they were becoming more popular and started hanging around the popular kids they started talking to me like I wasn’t their friend. I always say that my sophomore wasn’t my favorite year of high school. My senior year some of my friends who I haven’t spoken to in a while we reunited put our our past problems behind us.

The Move On

Arcadia_University_East_Walkway_02
Arcadia University is where I attend college now.

 

After High School I was ready to move on to a different environment. As far as my friends I had to end my friendship with some of my friends as they were still being the same person. They were still getting into trouble at school and trouble with the law. After I graduated from high school I didn’t have any contact with my friends from high school for a little bit because at that time I was so ready to go around a different environment, meet new people and be around more positive people. I was so ready to leave high school because I’ve felt that there was a certain level of negativity going around my school. Also, some of friends left before graduating, they dropped out of school to work full-time and get their GED’s.

After a year of having no contact with my friends I started reaching out to them through Social Media. Most of them started to working, playing football in college, and playing basketball in college. As a friend I am happy for the ones who are doing great things!

Nigel in the radio station.jpg
Here I am at the radio station at Arcadia.

What was your transition like from high school to college?

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

 

2 thoughts on “After High School (Friends)

  1. Thank You So Much! On Wed, Apr 26, 2017 at 6:29 AM The DREAM News Blog wrote:

    > thedreamnewsblog posted: “In the beginning I’ve known my high school > friends since Middle School. The way it was I had separate group of friends > that I would hang out with. We had classes together, we played on the > basketball, ran track, and played football team together. We had ” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

